Posts by Karma Reine

Western Canadian Music Award 2010 Nominees

Formerly known as The Western Canadian Music Awards weekend, the newly named BreakOut West will maintain and build on all of the elements and events that have made the past seven years such an overwhelming success, including:

  • A re-visioned conference focusing on current industry trends and one-on-one experiences.
  • A two showcase per band festival maximizing our artists’ exposure and opportunity.
  • The Industry Awards Brunch and of course the Western Canadian Music Awards themselves, celebrating another year of excellence.

The inaugural BreakOut West will take place here in Kelowna on October 21st to 24th 2010.

For the first time in its eight year history, The Western Canadian Music Awards will be televised. Not only will CBC Television be at BreakOut West 2010 in Kelowna, B.C. to record the Awards in English but Radio Canada will be there to broadcast the awards in French as well. In addition, both CBC English and French Radio will be recording BreakOut West Festival performances for national broadcast. All broadcast times and dates TBA.

Take a look at this years incredible nominees! So many from Kelowna and BC!

Aboriginal Recording of the Year
Eagle & Hawk – The Great Unknown – MB
Leela Gilday – Calling All Warriors – NWT
Lost Priority – All That We Are – MB
Shane Yellowbird – It’s About Time – AB
Wayne Lavallee – Trail of Tears – B.C.

Blues Recording of the Year
Colin James – Rooftops and Satellites – B.C.
David Gogo – Different Views – B.C.
Jim Byrnes – My Walking Stick – B.C.
Rich Hope & His Evil Doers – Rich Hope Is Gonna Whip It On Ya – B.C.
The Jimmy Zee Band – Devil Take Me Down – B.C.

Children’s Recording of the Year
Duplex! – Worser – B.C.
Gogo Bonkers – Love the Land – B.C.
Norman Foote – Love My New Shirt – B.C.
Peter Puffin’s Whale Tales – Proud Like A Mountain – AB
The Kerplunks – Walk On – B.C.

Classical Composition of the Year
Elizabeth Raum – Prayer and Dance of Praise – SK
Jocelyn Morlock – Exaudi – B.C.
Malcolm Forsyth – Steps – AB
Sid Robinovitch – Adieu Babylon – MB
Stephen Chatman – Earth Songs – B.C.

Classical Recording of the Year
Fringe Percussion – Fringe Percussion – B.C.
Jeremy S. Brown – Rubbing Stone – AB
Mark Takeshi McGregor – Different Stones: Canadian Music for Multiple Flutes – B.C.
Musica Intima – Into Light – B.C.
University of British Columbia Singers – A Chatman Christmas – B.C.

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Recording of the Year
Amanda Falk – In Between the Now & Then – MB
Carolyn Arends – Love Was Here First – B.C.
FRESH IE – Inside – MB
Jon Buller – Light Up the Sky – B.C.
Sandon – Sonic Synthesis – SK

Continue Reading…